LutzLute GbR

Martina & Lutz Kirchhof

Viola da Gamba

Lute

We, Martina and Lutz Kirchhof, have been playing, as a duo with lute and viola da gamba since 1996, music from the great treasure of lute literature, the biggest repertoire there is for a musical instrument.

It is our wish to bring this wonderful, aesthetic and beneficial music to the attention of those who seek balance, refinement and a clear mind; those who do not orientate to mainstream but follow their intuition and go their own ways.

Through the founding of our label LutzLute® we are able to release musical art from the world of Quiet Music without having to allow for the mercantile requirements of big record label companies.

We wish to take you into the fantasy worlds of a timeless musical universe that fascinated such great men as Leonardo da Vinci, Galileo Galilei or Johann Sebastian Bach.


Find out more about our music here:


Music for lute and viola da gamba

DSC_0080_Auss_hoch_B_DUO_kl

Duo Kirchhof


Lutz and Martina Kirchhof have been giving concerts playing old European music since 1996.

They live in an old half-timbered farmhouse from the 17th century near the baroque town of Weilburg, where they can concentrate quietly and undisturbed on their studies  and interpretation of old musical treasures.


Lutz Kirchhof is one of the internationally most renowned lutenists. His virtuosity and expressiveness have been acclaimed by the largest record label companies for many years. Concert tours led him to all the continents. His particular merit is the research into and rediscovery of old lute playing techniques which enable him to interpret so brilliantly.

Lutz Kirchhof is the founder of the German Lute Society and various lute festivals. For a CD production of his World Festival of the Lute he was awarded the prize of the German record critic. In Dresden in 2000 he founded the Festival of the Lute. It was the largest lute festival in the world. Lutz Kirchhof has been invited to numerous radio- and television- productions. Reviews emphasize the expressivity and virtuosity of his lute playing. The Süddeutsche Zeitung called him " the modern reincarnation of Sylvius Leopold Weiss" who was acclaimed the greatest lutenist of all times.

In 2014 he founded, together with Martina Kirchhof, the label LutzLute that releases (publishes) fine European solo- and chamber-music.


More about Lutz Kirchhof


He found his dream partner in Martina Kirchhof.

She, a gifted virtuoso, developed a way of playing, based on the "Tout en l'air" technique, that imparts the strings tone rhythmic conciseness and jazz-related drive in the manner of old viola da gamba masters. The dance-like intensity of the lute works are enriched by her playing. With her warm, colourful sound she shapes solo works of this royal string instrument emotionally and deeply touching.

At four years old she began her musical education with Martin Schirrmeister and studied later with distinguished musical instructors for example Rainer Zipperling and Michael Schneider.

Particularly inspiring for her was a course of studies with Wieland Kuijken at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague.

During an intensive international concert career as well as many radio, television and CD productions she has become known as one of the most distinguished viola da gamba virtuoso of our time.


More about Martina Kirchhof


It is the wish of the Duo Kirchhof to bring to life again for a wide audience, the profoundness and vibrancy of Ancient Music whose sources today are to be found in collections and libraries.

They would like to convey the dance-like vitality and contemplative calm in which our ancestors perceived and shaped the foundations for modern civilization.

Their fine, mystical instruments were preferred by humanism because their colourful sound made possible a maximum of subtlety and diversity. One wanted to depict the delicate emotion of the soul and at the same time induce a high clarity of the mind.

The interplay of lute and viola da gamba counts as particularly touching and salutary and can enchant a modern public with its unusual charm.


Kevin Wood

Here is an official description of our duo:

About us

Zur früheren Webseite

To the former website

LutzLuteLogoMini

LutzLute  GbR

Martina & Lutz Kirchhof

®

© Lutz Kirchhof

LutzLute GbR

Martina & Lutz Kirchhof

Viola da Gamba

Laute

Wir, Martina & Lutz Kirchhof spielen seit 1996 als Duo mit Laute und Viola da Gamba Musik aus dem großen Schatz der Lautenliteratur, dem größten Repertoire, das es für ein Musikinstrument gibt.

Unser Anliegen ist es, dieser wunderschönen, kunstvollen und wohltuenden Musik mehr Aufmerksamkeit bei Menschen zu verschaffen, die Ausgeglichenheit, Verfeinerung und einen klaren Geist suchen; Menschen, die sich nicht unbedingt am Mainstream orientieren, sondern ihrer Intuition folgen und einen eigenen Weg gehen.

Durch die Gründung unseres Labels LutzLute® haben wir nun die Möglichkeit Tonkunst aus der Welt der Stillen Musik zu veröffentlichen, ohne die merkantilen Bedürfnisse großer Plattenfirmen berücksichtigen zu müssen.

Wir möchten Sie in die Fantasiewelten eines zeitlosen Klanguniversums entführen, das auch Meister wie Leonardo da Vinci, Galileo Galilei oder Johann Sebastian Bach fasziniert hat.


Mehr über unsere Musik erfahren Sie hier:


Musik für Laute und Viola da Gamba

DSC_0080_Auss_hoch_B_DUO_kl

Das Duo Kirchhof


Lutz und Martina Kirchhof konzertieren seit 1996 gemeinsam in Konzerten mit alter europäischer Musik. Sie leben in einem Bauernhaus aus dem 17. Jahrhundert nahe der barocken Residenz Weilburg, wo sie sich ungestört der Erforschung und Interpretation alter musikalischer Kostbarkeiten widmen können.


Lutz Kirchhof ist einer der international renommiertesten Lautenisten. Seine Virtuosität und Ausdruckskraft wurden durch langjährige Verpflichtungen bei den größten Schallplattenfirmen der Welt gewürdigt. Konzertreisen führten ihn in alle Kontinente. Als besonderer Verdienst wird ihm die Erforschung und Wiederentdeckung alter Lautenspieltechniken angerechnet, die ihm seine brillanten, differenzierten und farbenreichen Interpretationen ermöglichen.

Lutz Kirchhof ist Gründer der Deutschen Lautengesellschaft und verschiedener Lautenfestivals. Für eine CD-Produktion seines WELTFESTIVALS DER LAUTE erhielt er den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik. In Dresden gründete er 2000 das FESTIVAL DER LAUTE. Es war das größte Lautenfestival der Welt. Lutz Kirchhof wurde zu zahlreichen Rundfunk- und Fernsehproduktionen eingeladen. Rezensionen heben die Expressivität und Virtuosität seines Lautenspiels hervor. Die Süddeutsche Zeitung bezeichnet ihn als "moderne Reinkarnation des Sylvius Leopold Weiss", der im Barock als "größten Lautenisten aller Zeiten" gefeiert wurde.

2014 gründete er zusammen mit Martina Kirchhof das Label LutzLute® , das feine Europäische Solo- und Kammermusik veröffentlicht.


Mehr über Lutz Kirchhof


In Martina Kirchhof fand er seine Traumpartnerin. Die hochbegabte Virtuosin entwickelte eine auf der „Tout en l’air“-Technik basierende Spielweise, die im Sinne alter Viola da Gamba-Meister dem Streicherton rhythmische Prägnanz und jazzähnlichen Drive verleiht. Die tänzerische Intensität der Lautenwerke erfährt so durch ihr Spiel eine besondere Bereicherung. Mit ihrem warmem, farbenreichen Ton gestaltet sie Solowerke des königlichen Streichinstruments emotional und tief berührend.


Bereits mit vier Jahren begann sie ihre musikalische Ausbildung bei Martin Schirrmeister und studierte später bei bedeutenden Musikdozenten wie Rainer Zipperling oder Michael Schneider.

Besonders inspirierend war für sie ein Studium bei Wieland Kuijken am Königlichen Konservatorium in Den Haag. Durch eine intensive internationale Konzerttätigkeit sowie zahlreiche Rundfunk-, Fernseh- und CD Produktionen wurde sie als eine der hervorragendsten Gamben- virtuosinnen unserer Zeit bekannt.


Mehr über Martina Kirchhof


Das Anliegen des DUOs KIRCHHOF ist es, die Tiefe und Lebendigkeit Alter Musik, deren Quellen heute ausschließlich in Sammlungen und Bibliotheken zu finden sind, für ein breiteres Publikum wieder entstehen zu lassen. Sie möchten tänzerische Lebensfreude und kontemplative Ruhe einer Kunst vermitteln, in deren Sphäre unsere Vorfahren die Grundlagen moderner Zivilisation erahnten und gestalteten.

Ihre feinen und geheimnisvollen Instrumente wurden vom Humanismus bevorzugt, weil deren farbenreicher Klang ein Höchstmaß an Subtilität und Gestaltungsvielfalt ermöglicht. Man wollte zarteste Regungen der Seele darstellen und gleichzeitig eine hohe Klarheit des Geistes hervorrufen.

Das Zusammenspiel von Laute und Viola da Gamba galt als besonders anrührend und heilsam und kann auch ein modernes Publikum mit seinem außergewöhnlichen Charme verzaubern.


Kevin Wood

Hier eine offizielle Beschreibung unseres Duos:

Über uns

Zur früheren Webseite

Zur früheren Webseite

LutzLuteLogoMini

LutzLute  GbR

Martina & Lutz Kirchhof

®

© Lutz Kirchhof